The Diva Frosts a Cupcake

Contents

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

CUPCAKES AND PUPCAKES | Guest List

CUPCAKES AND PUPCAKES | Dinner Menu

 

CHAPTER ONE

CHAPTER TWO

CHAPTER THREE

CHAPTER FOUR

CHAPTER FIVE

CHAPTER SIX

CHAPTER SEVEN

CHAPTER EIGHT

CHAPTER NINE

CHAPTER TEN

CHAPTER ELEVEN

CHAPTER TWELVE

CHAPTER THIRTEEN

CHAPTER FOURTEEN

CHAPTER FIFTEEN

CHAPTER SIXTEEN

CHAPTER SEVENTEEN

CHAPTER EIGHTEEN

CHAPTER NINETEEN

CHAPTER TWENTY

CHAPTER TWENTY-ONE

CHAPTER TWENTY-TWO

CHAPTER TWENTY-THREE

CHAPTER TWENTY-FOUR

CHAPTER TWENTY-FIVE

CHAPTER TWENTY-SIX

CHAPTER TWENTY-SEVEN

CHAPTER TWENTY-EIGHT

CHAPTER TWENTY-NINE

CHAPTER THIRTY

CHAPTER THIRTY-ONE

CHAPTER THIRTY-TWO

CHAPTER THIRTY-THREE

CHAPTER THIRTY-FOUR

CHAPTER THIRTY-FIVE

CHAPTER THIRTY-SIX

CHAPTER THIRTY-SEVEN

CHAPTER THIRTY-EIGHT

 

RECIPES & COOKING TIPS

The Diva Frosts a Cupcake

KRISTA DAVIS

PRAISE FOR THE AGATHA AWARD–NOMINATED DOMESTIC DIVA MYSTERIES

The Diva Digs up the Dirt

“Perfectly enjoyable.”


RT Book Reviews

“A satisfying, complex story . . . [An] enjoyable mystery . . . Poignant, but also funny at times.”


Vibrant Nation


The Diva Digs up the Dirt
definitely hit the spot . . . [A] fun mystery and a great way to spend a few hours by the pool or at the beach.”


Booking Mama

The Diva Haunts the House

“The quirky characters are well developed, the story line is as crisp as a fall apple, and the twists and turns are as tight as a corkscrew.”

—AnnArbor.com

“Davis finely blends mystery and comedy, keeping
The Diva Haunts the House
entertaining and alluring.”

—SeattlePI.com

The Diva Cooks a Goose

“For fans of Donna Andrews and Diane Mott Davidson . . . [A] real winner.”


The Season

“Sophie keeps a cool head . . . ensuring a Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.”


The Mystery Reader

“A great whodunit.”


Once Upon a Romance

“This is not your run-of-the-mill cozy; the characters are real to life, interesting, and keep you wondering what will happen next. Krista Davis writes one enjoyable read.”


The Romance Readers Connection

The Diva Paints the Town

“[Davis] handles this tricky tale with aplomb and fills it with a cast of eccentrics . . . And the three animals are endlessly amusing. Davis includes several recipes, and although the novel takes place during a Virginia winter, the strawberry daiquiris will have you pretending it’s summer.”


Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Davis plates up another delectable whodunit, complete with recipes. Indeed, her novels are every bit as good as Diane Mott Davidson’s Goldy Schulz mysteries.”


Shine

“Davis’s latest is an enjoyable mystery that includes decorating tips, a few pets, an unusual bequest, and recipes . . . Once again, Krista Davis brings us interesting, fun characters.”


Lesa’s Book Critiques

“Ms. Davis immerses the reader into the world of interior design.”


TwoLips Reviews

The Diva Takes the Cake


The Diva Takes the Cake
does just that—takes the cake.”


The Romance Readers Connection

“Mistaken identities, half truths, buried secrets, missing jewelry, wedding jitters, and family squabbles are whipped into a sweet froth in this second of the Domestic Diva Mysteries . . . [A] fun little bonbon of a book to enjoy on the beach or as a break from any wedding plans.”

—ReviewingTheEvidence.com

“Sure to thrill cozy fans.”


Fresh Fiction

“Davis has devised a delightful romp, with engaging characters and a nicely crafted setting in which to place them. The author sets just the right tone to match her diva’s perfect centerpieces, tablescapes, and lighting effects.”


Shine

The Diva Runs Out of Thyme

“[A] tricky whodunit laced with delectable food . . . [A] fine mystery that’s stuffed with suspects—and a reminder that nobody’s Thanksgiving is perfect.”


Richmond Times-Dispatch

“A mouthwatering mix of murder, mirth, and mayhem, nicely spiced by new author Krista Davis.”

—Mary Jane Maffini, author of
The Busy Woman’s Guide to Murder

“This cozy mystery delivers a plethora of useful household tips and mouthwatering recipes immersed within a keep-you-guessing plot filled with suspicious-acting characters, and twists and turns around every corner. Davis’s smart writing style and engaging characters are sure to garner fans.”

—AuthorsDen.com

“Filled with humor, delicious recipes, and holiday decorating tips,
The Diva Runs Out of Thyme
is a lighthearted mystery that is sure to get you in the Thanksgiving mood . . . [A] must-read to prepare for the holiday season!”


The Romance Readers Connection

“[A] fun romp into the world of food, murder, and mayhem.”


Armchair Interviews


The Diva Runs Out of Thyme
is as much comedy as mystery . . . [A] really good book . . . [A] series worth watching.”


Mysterious Reviews

“An entertaining mystery novel with charming characters. The plot of the mystery is well drawn out . . . Davis is an excellent mystery author.”

—MyShelf.com

“The beginning of a good culinary cozy series with some interesting and different characters.”

—Gumshoe Review

Berkley Prime Crime titles by Krista Davis

THE DIVA RUNS OUT OF THYME

THE DIVA TAKES THE CAKE

THE DIVA PAINTS THE TOWN

THE DIVA COOKS A GOOSE

THE DIVA HAUNTS THE HOUSE

THE DIVA DIGS UP THE DIRT

THE DIVA FROSTS A CUPCAKE

THE BERKLEY PUBLISHING GROUP

Published by the Penguin Group

Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

375 Hudson Street, New York, New York 10014, USA

USA | Canada | UK | Ireland | Australia | New Zealand | India | South Africa | China

Penguin Books Ltd., Registered Offices: 80 Strand, London WC2R 0RL, England

For more information about the Penguin Group, visit penguin.com.

THE DIVA FROSTS A CUPCAKE

A Berkley Prime Crime Book / published by arrangement with the author

Copyright © 2013 by Cristina Ryplansky.

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced, scanned, or distributed in any printed or electronic form without permission. Please do not participate in or encourage piracy of copyrighted materials in violation of the author’s rights. Purchase only authorized editions.

Berkley Prime Crime Books are published by The Berkley Publishing Group.

BERKLEY
®
PRIME CRIME and the PRIME CRIME logo are trademarks of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

For information, address: The Berkley Publishing Group,

a division of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.,

375 Hudson Street, New York, New York 10014.

ISBN: 978-0-425-25813-2

eBook ISBN: 978-1-101-62342-8

PUBLISHING HISTORY

Berkley Prime Crime mass-market edition / June 2013

Cover illustration by Teresa Fasolino.

Cover design by Diana Kolsky.

This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, and incidents either are the product of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously, and any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, business establishments, events, or locales is entirely coincidental. The publisher does not have any control over and does not assume any responsibility for author or third-party websites or their content.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The recipes contained in this book are to be followed exactly as written. The publisher is not responsible for your specific health or allergy needs that may require medical supervision. The publisher is not responsible for any adverse reactions to the recipes contained in this book.

 

For the Plothatchers,

who always have an answer, a suggestion, or a great idea,

and are there no matter what.

They are my watercooler when I need a break,

a shoulder to lean on, and have become

my very dear friends:

Janet Bolin, Peg Cochran, Kaye George,

Daryl Wood Gerber, Janet Koch,

and Marilyn Levinson.

Other books

The Privilege of the Sword by Kushner, Ellen
The Offering by Kimberly Derting
The APOCs Virus by Alex Myers
A Shot of Sin by Eden Summers
Alarums by Richard Laymon
Leave Me Breathless by HelenKay Dimon
Deadly Coast by McDermott, R. E.
Dear Rockstar by Rollins, Emme
Reign by Williamson, Chet